• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Bald Eagle Blow Out (1 Viewer)

CurtMorgan

I took this photo yesterday in full sun behind me and was greatly disappointed to see how badly the whites blew out. I have a Canon Rebel XT (350d) and was using my Canon 400mm f/5.6 on a tripod. Here is additional exif:
3456x2304, cropped 1136x796, exposure 1/1250 sec @ f/5.6, ISO 400
Here is info on my processing in lightroom (I am a self-taught novice on both lightroom and photoshop elements 6.0):highlight tones -31; light tones -33; temperature +4; clarity +22; vibrance +23; saturation +4; black clipping +16; exposure -.50; brightness -12; highlight tones +30; vignette midpoint -2.
I also converted to 8bit jpeg in photoshop and used neat image on the background 40%. I don't think that my camera will shoot RAW automatically, so unless the subject is still (in which case I switch to manual after noting the light reading in sport mode and adjust to that reading in manual/RAW) I usually use the sport mode which is a JPEG.
I will also include the original, converted to 8 bit, reduced a 1/3 in size, and compressed to jpeg.

Attachments

• BaldEagleBlowout.jpg
    BaldEagleBlowout.jpg
    42.1 KB · Views: 137
  • IMG_9043-Edit-2.jpg
    IMG_9043-Edit-2.jpg
    158.1 KB · Views: 104