• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Lazy, thieving journalists (1 Viewer)

Brian Stone

A Stone chatting
I happened to be reading the Independent newspaper last Saturday and came across the article "Winners and losers among British wildlife as summer heatwave transforms the landscape". One of the photos looked jolly familiar and sure enough when I checked it was one of my own that I'd taken about a year previously and published on my blog. The pic is attached here.

It was published without permission and without any acknowledgement and worse they had recropped it and cut off the antennae. I'm not a professional but I've always been paid when my work's appeared in commercial publications in the past.

I've emailed the news editor outlining my "usual fee" but they haven't replied. Any ideas as to what to do next?

This must go on all the time but go largely un-noticed.

Attachments

• roesels_bush-cricket_12aug05_420_20b.jpg
    roesels_bush-cricket_12aug05_420_20b.jpg
    25.1 KB · Views: 305
brianhstone said:
I happened to be reading the Independent newspaper last Saturday and came across the article "Winners and losers among British wildlife as summer heatwave transforms the landscape". One of the photos looked jolly familiar and sure enough when I checked it was one of my own that I'd taken about a year previously and published on my blog. The pic is attached here.