• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Camera upgrade (1 Viewer)

Clive Watson

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit ampheta
OK, so I've been managing for a couple of years with my trusty 20D and now I'm looking to upgrade. The new 40D sounds tempting but I wonder if I'd be better off getting a 2nd-hand 1D, 1DS, 1DN or even a 1D mkII for (presumably?) not much more money (forget the 1D mk III, out of my price range). I wonder if I may be so bold as to canvas opinion as to which one people think I should go for?

Or to put it another way, the 1 series bodies are presumably superior to the 20/30/40Ds due to the price difference, but where exactly does the 1 series win out? I am presuming it is in the areas of difficult situations - flight shots, low light etc. I presume that given good conditions, e.g. a Robin sat on a garden spade a few feet away, there is very little, if any, to choose between them. Am I right???

Hmmm .... As a 20D owner who recently bought a 1D III and plans to get a 40D before too long, I should be well-placed to answer your question. It's a bit early yet for me to give a proper answer (I don't have a 40D and I've only had the 1D III a short while), but I'll have a stab at it.