• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hello from the Highlands (1 Viewer)

Highlander

The West is Best
I am from a small village called Newtonmore, near Aviemore in Inverness-shire in the Highlands of Scotland. I am a hill farmer / crofter and have a keen interest in birds. I recently won an award from the RSPB for the work we do to encourage lapwings (peeweets) on our farm.
We live close to the RSPB Insh Marshes Reserve (3 miles) and graze some of our animals there. We also have a holiday house business that runs alongside the farm.
We keep mostly Highland Cattle and Highland Ponies which are native breeds. Infact we have 7 rare and native breeds on our farm as listed by the Rare Breeds Survival Trust, and that is before we even start looking at the birds: Lapwings, Redshank, Snipe, Curlew, Oyster Catchers, Whooper Swans, Grey Lag Geese and many Raptors.
Hope to meet some of you in our area if you are up birding.

Attachments

• Heifers Snow.jpg
    Heifers Snow.jpg
    12.2 KB · Views: 217
Last edited:
Hi Highlander, a very warm welcome to Birdforum.net from all the moderators and admin staff. We hope you enjoy your time here.

Congatualtions on your work in helping the Lapwings, I think most birders have a soft spot for that particular bird (one of the first birds I took an interest in as a child, when they were so numerous in my area)

Very nice photo of your stock up there in the snowfields.
Regards,
Andy

Hi Highlander,

Welcome to BirdForum!