Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!
Magnifying the passion for nature. Zeiss Victory Harpia 95. New!

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Old Wednesday 8th April 2015, 14:47   #1
Fwin71

Smile Trip to Quebec: First week of June Trip to Southern Spain: First week of May

Hi birder pals,

I am a PhD student in Max Planck Institute for Ornithology in Germany.

I am now organizing two birding trips, one in early May in Southern Spain in Andalousia and Extramadura where I am aiming at seeing the most emblematic species of the region during five days.
The second one is in Quebec, probably during the first week of June, starting from Sherbrooke, where I will be based in end of May for a conference.

Is anyone interested in guiding and joining me during one of these trips?
I would appreciate an experienced birder that can bring me to nice spots to see rare species.
Or do you have contacts or suggestions for me?

Also, I was wondering for Quebec whether it was more worthy to birdwatch there in end of May or in start of June? June should be the peak of breeding, but birds should be more active in May no? Maybe this week difference is not so important at that stage of the year.

Thanks!
Arnaud
Old Wednesday 8th April 2015, 15:12   #2
Peter C.
...just zis guy, you know?

I've never actually birded right around Sherbrooke, but just going by my knowledge of seasonality in Canada generally, I would say that the difference between the last week in May and the first week in June is minimal.