• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Help with editing this photo (1 Viewer)

JDV

Im a novice at PS, but have a decent working knowledge of my way around it. Was seeking some tips on post editing a pic. The below example is the before and after. The edited photo looks somewhat better, but the highlites are blown out a bit. I believe I did a 100% crop first, then adjusted the levels, then smart sharpen just a bit, then curves to blacken it a bit. The 2nd pic is a 100% crop of the original in case someone wants give a stab at it and show me what I did wrong and what I could actually come up with. As always, thanx for any suggestions.

Attachments

• HB.jpg
    HB.jpg
    68.3 KB · Views: 92
  • HB2.jpg
    HB2.jpg
    75.8 KB · Views: 95
Last edited:
It looks kinda strange to me.

Some smudging and / or over processing presumbaly by the camera to start with. Assuming you shoot .JPG and not RAW.

It seems to be over sharpened, so that could be your in-cam settings. It looks over saturated too... in-cam settings.

Some of the bird looks out of focus or it could be the smudging induced by the camera in its over zealous attempt to make what it thinks is a good photo based on your settings.

I would check what settings you have set in-cam, and calm them down a bit.

I didnt do much in the way of processing on the 2nd pic. Its already been harshly processed already, but have fiddled with Highlights / Shadows, slight destaturate, selective blur on the background.

Whether mine is any better is a personal thing though..

Attachments

• HB2.jpg
    HB2.jpg
    170.4 KB · Views: 72