• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Light binoculars - need advice (1 Viewer)

CyberKat

I am still new in bird watching, and so far I mostly used other people binoculars to watch birds. I am aware that for birding it would be best to take some bigger binocular like 10x50, 10x40 or something, but the thing is... whenever I go on some bird-watching field trips, I always have my camera around my neck, and it is already heavy to carry around... so I was thinking about purchasing some small binloculars like 10x25, or 12x25 (that would also be handy to carry around in my backpack every day), but I have no idea are they any good for birding, or I will just waste my money on something like that??

I saw in some local store:

Practica 12x25 S
magnification: 12
lens: 25 mm diameter
eye ring diameter: 2.08 mm
brightness: 4.33
twilight factor: 17.32
angel of view: 3.8°
field of view in 1000 m: 84 m
focusing distance: 6 m to infinity
weight: 225 g

and

Practica 10x25 S
magnification: 10
lens: 25 mm diameter
eye ring diameter: 2.5 mm
brightness: 6.25
twilight factor: 15.81
angel of view: 5.8°
field of view in 1000 m: 96 m
focusing distance: 4.5 m to infinity
weight: 200 g

... but I have no idea what some of these specifications actually mean? So any advice is most welcome. Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
Hello,
Greetings to you. Nice to have someone from Serbia with us.
I don't know the Practica brand, but in my experience these compact bins are not very useful. The image is dark, unsharp, possibly even causing headaches.