• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Looking for a North-American bird guide (1 Viewer)

Morag2

Hey all, I just started reading about birdwatching mainly because I am a nature photographer and would like to be able to identify the birds I photograph. I have a book on birdwatching with a guide to North American birds but it only lists the "100 most common species".

I would like a book that lists almost any bird I'm ever going to see in North America (I have heard there are about 700 species?). So basically, does anyone have any recommendations? It doesn't need to have any bird-watching information, just a list and some information on all the birds. (I would like it to include general location of birds in North American, habitat, favourite foods, identification and a colour photo).

So does anyone know of any books like this? My online searching has come up with nothing.

Thanks all!

There are several threads here on BF, in this same sub-forum actually, that have lengthy discusssions about the relative merits of all kinds of field guides for North America.

Here's one on a reference book, not a field guide, that you'll find more useful at home:

http://www.birdforum.net/showthread.php?t=55747&highlight=North+America+field+guide