• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Spotting Scope Advice (1 Viewer)

Darfle

Hi all

Completely new to this so looking for some advice please? I want to buy a spotting scope for my fathers 60th birthday. He doesn’t know he is getting it and he has never used one before so complete beginner. He lives on Jersey Island and he has a lovely view of France from his house. The French coast is approximately 14miles away.

Can anyone please give me some ideas on what scope to buy? It has to be easy for beginners, I would like him to be able to see as much detail as possible in regards to boats/people/houses etc. and also affordable?

Thank you so much in advance. Darren.

If he has never used a scope, remember that a scope requires a tripod and tripod head, which are a pain to move around, so your purchase will effectively become part of his furniture. Are you confident he wants one or would binoculars be more convenient/pleasing?

Separately, your budget will drive the decision. At one extreme, Swarovski's superb ATX95 with a binoviewer costs around $6000, whereas some more modest Celestron setup sells for a few hundred. The difference is ease of view and image quality, not magnification. A good optics shop is well worth visiting, just to get a feel for what you are paying for.