• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

going to a reserve (1 Viewer)

becky.t

another question . i am likely tto take the plunge and go to a nature reserve locally sometime this week. minsmere sounds good to me ( i ma a complete novice ). with my daughter who is 7, my question is probably obvious to everyone ecxpet me but what do we need to take with us ? i have my binoculars and a guide book , is there anything else we wil need ? or is there anything more e we should know beforehand ?

Becky Minsmere is a great reserve and all you need is to turn up the staff are very helpfull and the reserve is great place to start , just enjoy and please post your impressions of your day out.

If in doubt just ask ,most birders are happy to help we all have to start somewhere.

Be prepared to alter your plans to accommodate your little one as kids sometimes can get a little bored but there is a decent cafe and shop on site so you can break the trip up into bite size pieces. hopeyou have a great day.:t:

HI Becky - We usually take some sandwiches and a drink, although Minsmere does have a cafe, I think.

A notebook is a good idea to jot down what you see and to do sketches of birds to identify later.

It might seem obvious but start birding as soon as you arrive - we often see some of our best birds around the car park and on the walk to the hides.

You will have a great day at Minsmere - let us know how you get on.

Hi Becky,

Bear in mind that Minsmere is closed on Tuesdays.

I look forward to hearing about your day there. It is a great place to go birding, and the cafe is good too!