• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Canon 450D (1 Viewer)

Joseph N

Lothian Young Birder
Hello,

I have recently been given a sum of £3000 by grandparents, who give their grandchildren money as their 16th birthday is approaching. Having received it, I have come to the conclusion that I'd like to spend £1000 of my budget on both a camera and a lense, as I would love to get into photographing birds. I am completely new to the world of bird photography and thus am unfamiliar to any camera terminology (IS0, D etc), but I have nonetheless got advice from a couple of individuals and they have reccomended me a certain Canon camera, namely 450D. I would be wanting to buy this type of camera for about £400-£450 second hand, leaving me about £600-£700 to spend on a new lense. Lense wise I have been reccommended a Sigma APO 150mm-500mm, which I hear are in the 600-700 pound price range.