• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Can i pick your brains please? (1 Viewer)

shinytopman

Hi Guys,

Im quite new to digital SLR photography to snap birds, the wife got me a EOS 550D for my birthday, im now looking for a decent lense.

I've been looking at the sigma 50-500 and the canon 100-400 as this is such a large investment i can only afford one or the other.

Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

Thank in advance,
Shiny.

Yes it is. The new version of the Sigma 50-500 does have optical stabilisation. Having sadi that I would still go for the 100-400L it's a great lens.

Being a newcomer myself and having been through similar debates/ confusing information before buying my Canon 300 f4 IS maybe I could offer some general tips, rather than technical detail. So here are a few "rules" I developed during my recent experience:

1. None of the lenses you list are "bad". They are all shades of excellence.
2. Owners of a particular model will always say their choice was the best. It's just himan nature!
3. The people who have owned both often provide the most relevant information. But still beware of Rule 2 above.
4. YOU MUST COMPARE THE LENSES PHYSICALLY YOURSELF. For what it is worth, it was only when I handled the Sigma 50-500 and the Canon 300 that I realised how big and heavy the Sigma was (but see Rule 2 above ;)). Similarly, I personally did not like the pump action zoom on the 100-400 when I held it in my hands (Rule 2 squared).