• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Digiscoping with binoculars (1 Viewer)

CliffMartin

Hello
I have been digiscoping for about 6 months now using a Nikon CP4500 attached to a very inexpensive pair of Pentax UCF 10x binoculars. I am happy with many of the photos I have taken, but sometimes I wish I had more magnification. I would like to upgrade my binoculars. Does anybody have any experience using binoculars for digiscoping(cp9xx,4500)? I would really prefer to purchase half a pair of binoculars. I know that sounds crazy, but do binos ever get broken or have factory defects that would make this possible?

Thanx,
CliffMartin

Digiscoping w/ binoculars

Before I was finally able to purchase my spotting scope I used my binoculars quite a bit for digiscoping. I used a Fuji Finepix 4800 with my Nikon Venturer LX 10X42's. The Fuji's camera lens was a perfect fit for the Nikon eyepieces with the eyecup slightly turned out. Though I would never win any awards w/ this setup, it worked great for getting those memory shots. I was able to photograph a Sharp-shinned Hawk eating a dove in my back yard this winter, and got this photo of a Night Heron earlier this spring.

I'm sorry I cannot reply to your inquiry about 1/2 binocs. I'd invest in a good pair of binoculars and adjust your digiscoping to them (see betterviewdesired.com for their recommendations for binocs in your price range). Good luck!

Jerry

Attachments

• nightheron.jpg
    nightheron.jpg
    43.6 KB · Views: 592