• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

P&S camera for Televue TV60 (1 Viewer)

TeleVad

Hello everybody, I'm new to digiscoping and since I live far from West (Kazakstan, former USSR), I have some problems getting good equipment for
digiscoping. Thanks to a friend of mine, who is going to US soon, I should be
able to get some stuff.
After having absorbed a great deal of information, I decided to get Televue TV60 (birding kit). 1st reason being first class optics, 2nd - portability (my friend has limitation in that) 3rd - its multi purposeness (both for astronomy and birding). OK, this option is clear.
But a camera. I still have some doubts concering the basic principles. So I would be very obliged if anyone could help with some info.
1) Can a P&S camera (like Nikon P5100) be matched with TV60 (which has in standard set 1 8-24zoom ocular, and one 5mm) by means of digiscoping adapter, which will give me great range of magnifications
2) Or I should think toward a decent DSLR camera, which connects to TV60 by set of rings?
The problem is that I should clarify this before the man goes to US,
so any advice would be of great value,
thanks in advance

Skip the point and shoot digicams and get a dslr. The Nikon D40 at the current USA price is a bargain compared to the premium digicams now. The D60 will give you ~2x more megapixels useful for cropping and the Canon 450D offers excellent astrophotography features.