• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Northumberland Mink? (1 Viewer)

cyberem78

sorry if this is the wrong forum to post!

I have seen locally what looks like a mink although the animal has not been reported as living here.
The animal was jet black and furry (was dry) with a slight white line down it's chin and front belly, long and thin, pointy faced and was climbing a tilted tree across a river. I was walking my dog at the time and it was quite bold as it came back along the tree towards me as I walked by.

I'm not an expert in these things - is it possible to mistake an otter for mink as otters have been reported as living here?

If it is a mink what are the consequences of having the creature in the environment as I have read a few posts on here that talk about eradicating mink - thanks!

cyberem78 said:
sorry if this is the wrong forum to post!

I have seen locally what looks like a mink although the animal has not been reported as living here.
The animal was jet black and furry (was dry) with a slight white line down it's chin and front belly, long and thin, pointy faced and was climbing a tilted tree across a river. I was walking my dog at the time and it was quite bold as it came back along the tree towards me as I walked by.

I'm not an expert in these things - is it possible to mistake an otter for mink as otters have been reported as living here?

If it is a mink what are the consequences of having the creature in the environment as I have read a few posts on here that talk about eradicating mink - thanks!