• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Sketching/painting birds- any interest? (1 Viewer)

Den

Hello all!

I enjoy sketching the birds I see. I am not very good at it but strive to improve and I've found some good websites like surfbirds.com . There does not seem to be a forum on BF catering for people who enjoy this sort of activity. Is there any interest out there?
I really enjoy action sketches of the birds seen through the scope as a way of really looking at birds. I seen to learn a lot more about the bird when I draw it.
I've photographed birds for many years but I seen to derive a greater pleasure from trying to draw and paint them lately (and its cheaper!!).

I absolutely adore sketching and drawing birds/natural history subjects! A good sketch of a bird means so much more to me than any amount of photos!!!! Would love to see more on wildlife art...will definitely look up the Surfbirds site!
Do you subscribe to the new magazine Birds Illustrated....or Wildscape?

GILL

Gill Osborne said:
I absolutely adore sketching and drawing birds/natural history subjects! A good sketch of a bird means so much more to me than any amount of photos!!!! Would love to see more on wildlife art...will definitely look up the Surfbirds site!
Do you subscribe to the new magazine Birds Illustrated....or Wildscape?

GILL
I really enjoy Birds Illustrated. I still have all the old copies from when it was published in the early 90's. It used to have profiles of bird artists like Robert Gillmor.