• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Confused Consumer (1 Viewer)

galvanni

Hello all,

First, let me start by saying I'm new to a)spotting scopes and b)birding. I'll admit right now that I'm not into birding (at least not yet), but I figured if anyone is going to be an expert at non-astronomical optics, it's going to be birders, so that's what brings me here, to ask the experts.

Having said that, I value forums a lot, but I must say, there are just so many things to know about scopes and so many darn eyepieces for these scopes that I'm now more confused than when I first started looking into these.

I've decided on the PF-65ED because of its primary advantage of weight/size and because of many positive reviews, including that from BVD. That wasn't hard, because I've determined from my research that it's a decent value vs the high-end, which I probably wouldn't even be able to appreciate.

Now that I've started to research the eyepieces, I'm all over the place. Anyway, so I would like to get some opinions in helping to select eyepieces for my situation, which I don't believe I've found in these threads. Most seem to be seeking really inexpensive eyepieces, or high-end, unless I'm interpreting in incorrectly. The following is some information regarding its intended use.

1) Primarily for non-birding wildlife and nature, with a very real possibility of getting into birding. I've been gaining interest in it just from reading about scopes and seeing all the great photos.
2) Will definitely be digiscoping.