• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Is this a Twite or a Linnet? (1 Viewer)

Coltech

Saw this bird with the Goldfinches yesterday, is it a Twite or a Linnet. Think it may be a Twite as it has a yellow beak but I'm no expert. Sorry for the poor photo quality.

Attachments

• _DSC4665.jpg
    _DSC4665.jpg
    93.4 KB · Views: 300
  • _DSC4669.jpg
    _DSC4669.jpg
    167.2 KB · Views: 297
Last edited:
Lesser Redpoll by the looks of it :t:

A very good species for the garden list. We've never had them in the garden, though there are plenty in the countryside nearby this year.

Just checked the gallery for photos of lesser Redpoll. Think you're spot on, thanks,gonna add it to my garden list.

How lucky you are to see such a bird in your own garden, you must be really pleased, I'am somewhat envious. I think the photos are excellent, well done Coltech.

Rod.

Thanks all, was hoping for a Twite. lol. Guess I need a new ID guide, any suggestions? Currently I'm plagued by Sparrowhawks so I'm trying to give the regulars a fair chance. But an adult male seems as clever as me! (Boy I must be thick!). It changes tactics depending on where I place my feeders. Any advice?

re ID guides, You'll not beat the Collins guide, though I still really like Lars Johnson!

Soory - nothing helpful to suggest re Sprrowhawks!

Coltech said: