• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Planet Earth (1 Viewer)

kiosk

OK, I thought you guys might be interested in giving me some thoughts about one of the tv shows my company is representing that's coming out soon - I work in marketing, and we're working on The Discovery Channel's broadcast of Planet Earth, which as you probably know is pretty amazing, both on a production level and viewing level.

Has anyone seen the BBC broadcast? Reactions? Heard about The Discovery Channel starting up this Sunday night?

I'm interested in any and all feedback you all would be willing to tell me, and any thoughts you have. I'm looking for your opinions. Im trying to get feedback straight from people with valuable intel. And if you have questions, I can answer those also. Really appreciate anything yall have to say....

Here's a clip from the bird of paradise that is hosted and gives you a preview of what the series has to offer, as well:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=fDEBNoQs4Mc

Hi Kiosk,

In my opinion, Planet Earth is a mixed bag. Without exception the photography is amazing quality, but as a natural history program with a story, it is not really up to the standards of Life on Earth, Life of Birds and the insect one. What you get is amazing footage of essentially unrelated topics, stitched together by the commentary. Some of the sequences are the best ever - outstanding (the Snow Leopard springs to mind aswell as the elephant-hunting lions) and others are not much different from other natual history shows.

Cheers,

kiosk said: