• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

cheap scopes (1 Viewer)

crumbucket

Newbie here! So duck, incoming stupid questions! Hope I'm posting in the right place...

I've been looking to purchase a cheap scope for the past several weeks. I've read everything I can find until my eyeballs bleed and still cannot make a good decision. It seems that good metrics for decision making cannot be found in the spotting scope world, and most posts seem to be along the lines of "go to a shop and compare them all side by side." Seems that the best review I can find is that Cornell article from last year that everyone links to.

Having said that, I am looking at a Stokes Sandpiper, the Special Purchase 20-60x80 (at Eagle and cameralandny), and whatever I can find used (not much so far). The Sandpiper seems to be about $330 and the Special at $200.

Keeping in mind that I'm poor, does anyone have advice for me? Has anyone actually compared the 2 above? I've read that a person on here (FrankD?) thinks highly of the Special, and that it is better than scopes twice its price, but I've also read a similar opinion of the Sandpiper from Cornell. Another person on birdforum.net seemed to poo-poo the Cornell article.