Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!
Magnifying the passion for nature. Zeiss Victory Harpia 95. New!

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Old Sunday 11th September 2005, 15:17   #1
Steve25

A95 - Adapter or Handheld

I have recently purchased a friends Opticron ES80 GA ED45 with 20-60 zoom eyepiece. I want to try digiscoping with my Canon A95. I intended to connect the camera with a Lensmate 37mm thread to an LCE Winchester adapter.

However I have seen some marvellous pictures in the gallery which say 'handheld', which presumably means no adapter has been used.

My question is do I need to buy an adapter or is handheld an option for a complete novice.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Steve
Old Sunday 11th September 2005, 15:47   #2
alan_rymer

Steve

Handheld can produce good pictures, but most are totally useless ( you need something to centre your lens in the eyepiece without letting the camera lens touch glass ). And adaptor and remote shutter release will produce far more good photo's. The only drawback is the time wasted in setting it up.

Saying that, most of my photo's I take "just for the record", so most are handheld. If its something special, I use the adaptor!.

I use the ES80 GA ED with the HDF Zoom and the A95 with lensmate and LCE adaptor. Nice kit!.

Its not an optical illusion!. It just looks like one!.
Latest Life bird: Wryneck

BF Supporter 2004 2005 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Monday 12th September 2005, 11:48   #3
rka
ttbirds