• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

User with early stages of Parkinson's (1 Viewer)

mgsphilip

I am a binocular user with the early stages of Parkinson's. I now use 6x binoculars and find that these low power binoculars provide an acceptable image. As my disease progresses I will have to consider using image stabilising binoculars. Has anyone with Parkinson's, experience of using image stabilising equipment?

I have no experience of IS bins I'm afraid, but would buying a monopod and strapping the bins to it be an option?

I have tried using a monopod. It helps stabilise the image but it is difficult to follow moving objects with binoculars coupled to a monopod.

I have tried using binoculars mounted on a tripod. An excellent combination for distance viewing of landscapes.

However I prefer the experience of using my Nikon ED50 telescope with a 16x eyepiece. The wide angle view is like looking through a clear widow, the image is almost distortion free.

Apologies, I know very little about the disease and the degree of stabilisation that might be required. From my limited experience of Canon IS I suspect the dynamic range may not be adequate. I believe the Fujinon and Nikon may be better in that regard. It might be a naive suggestion, but I find weight to be a very effective damper. Adding a few hundred grams to your current pair is a very cheap experiment.

Best wishes,

David

The traditional viewpoint is that heavier binoculars provide a more stable image than lighter binoculars. ( something to do with inertia?)