• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Advise needed on Leica compact binoculars! (1 Viewer)

manishkulkarni

Hell All Binocular Gurus!

I'm an absolute newbie to binoculars having never owned one! And hence I'm reaching out for some advise...

My son is coming up two and I'm anticipating a lot more outdoors activity, occasional bird watching, sports esp. cricket, concerts, safari trips etc. and hence looking for a top-notch compact all-rounder... after a lot of rummaging, I kind of narrowed down on Leica Ultravid 8x20 or 10x25, and even visited the Leica shop here in the City (Royal Exchange). I loved both, esp the 8x20 for it's compact size whilst compromising on the FoV. I'm pretty sure if I went for anything larger 10x42 I wouldn't be carrying it around as often! :)

So I've two questions:

1. Any preference between 8x20 or 10x25, I ask only because I've read more than once that 8x is usually better to focus and steadier than 10x

2. More importantly, what's exactly the difference between the Colorline range which is considerably more expensive...?! E.g. 8x20 is c.450 whereas the Colorline version is c.700... I'm unable to find much on the web including Leica's website, and even the guy at the shop was clueless...! I've asked them to find out and revert, but nothing yet... I'm wondering if spending an extra £250 on Colorline is worth it...?!?!

Would be grateful for any guidance!!!

Regards,
Manish

Hell All Binocular Gurus!

I'm an absolute newbie to binoculars having never owned one! And hence I'm reaching out for some advise...