• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Pentax digiscoping adapter help requested! (1 Viewer)

Hello from California

I've been reading the messages on your site for a couple of days and, as a newbie, I am certain this is where to go for info. Nice job :clap: I've just purchased a new Pentax 65mm scope; and after trying it out, a 20-60mm Pentax zoom designed for the 80mm scope. I wear glasses and the extra eye relief was needed even though it cuts the effective magnification down to about 15-45mm (in addition, a company called OneCall had it for about $250!).

I also purchased through e-bay a Coolpix 990. So, a tripod, an adapter and a remote shutter release and I'm ready. Any ideas on an adapter?

Thanks to all of you for just being here.

Jeff

Hi Jeff

I use the 20-60 on the 80 Scope and a Coolpix 4500. I couldn't find a commercially available adapter so I had one made by a small precision engineering company.

I took the scope, camera and a picture of what I wanted - he measured it up and worked out the thread to screw it onto the camera and then machined it out of aluminium. It is a smple push fit tube which having been specifically made to measure holds firm without retaining screws but isn't too tight. It is also the right length so that I can still access the zoom OK.

Took about a week and cost £60. You just need a small helpful company that likes a challenge and is prepared to do a one off item.

Hope this is helpful.

Nigel,