• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Starting from scratch- Dryslwyn's first sketchbook. (1 Viewer)

dryslwyn

Well almost from scratch.

This forum is really giving me some incentive to do what I've wanted to do for ages- draw and paint birds. I thought as a beginner I'd take folks advice and look at one bird at a time mainly and do as much as I can in the field. Started with the swans on the joint thread and was pretty happy with the head but fretting over the wings .

Hoping for constructive criticism and please feel free to post anything including your own work to help :t:

Well, this forum has helped me a lot, including providing incentive to get off my arse and actually do stuff, so I can vouch for it's encouragement. Looking forward to seeing more of your work.

I hope this makes sence, because I have been at th beer, rum and pims. Celebrating my escape from B&Q. B :)

Well I finally got off my arse today! Went to a trout fishery and since the other half was totally preoccupied I had hours to study sketch and photo mallard and coot. It seems such a pity that this is all I have come up with to post -its the best of a paticularly bad lot. BUT believe it or not I did learn masses about mallard. For one thing their eyes are particularly high in their head |:S| Cheers VecB :)

Attachments

• mallard.jpg
    mallard.jpg
    21 KB · Views: 174
  • mallard2.jpg
    mallard2.jpg
    16.9 KB · Views: 128
These are good. Seriously. That's one of the things I've learned, drawing really helps you see things, Things you'd not otherwise notice. I'm learning a lot sketching.