• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Newbie With Lots Of Questions (1 Viewer)

Hi there,

As anyone who has read any of my other posts will know I am totally new to this and don't really have much of an Idea. I'm hoping someone on here can help answer some of my questions...

General Digiscoping Questions

1) What are the advantages / disadvantages of using a camera and digiscope over a camera with a long lens (apart from their obvious size)?

2) Do the scopes have adjustable focal lengths or are they fixed?

3) Are scopes suitable for every day zoom photography (extreme zoom landscapes is one example) or just wildlife spotting?

Camera Questions

I currently own an Olympus C700 digital camera and am aware this suitable for digiscoping...

1) Would the up and comming Fujifilm Finepix S7000 be suitable?

2) I know Nikon are the best for digiscoping...what other cameras are good? I'd like one with a fair bit of zoom if possible so I can use it as my everyday camera as well as a spotting camera.

I have many other questions but can't think of any at the moment.
I'd appreciate any help. Everyone on here has been great so far
Thanks
Paul

PaulThephotoMan,

Have you tried entering "digiscoping" in a search engine such as Google. That should throw up a few interesting sites to browse through

fujifilm s7000 and digiscoping.

General Digiscoping Questions

1) What are the advantages / disadvantages of using a camera and digiscope over a camera with a long lens (apart from their obvious size)?

advantage is the much longer telphotolens you will get like 2000-3000mm.