• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

bunting maybe? UK (1 Viewer)

jc001

hello!
after a quick look in the book i wondered if it might be a cirl or yellowhammer ? but im not good with some bunting types.
Any ideas? I have a few more equally bad long distance pics if it helps.
It was up on a hill on the west sussex downs.
thanks;
jc

Attachments

• buntingish.jpg
    buntingish.jpg
    70 KB · Views: 969
Maybe it's the pic but I thought I could see coverts with white tips (probably just the way the pic looks), other than that I have to agree with Reed Bunt.

Female reed bunting looks good for me, theres a few reeds a mile or so down the hill (if that even matters out of breeding season?)

Added a few more pics as requested, but non were equally as bad, theyre worse! and no side profile shots. full scope-zoom in strong wind is my excuse.

thanks for the help:)

Attachments

• buntingish1.jpg
    buntingish1.jpg
    47.6 KB · Views: 442
  • buntingish2.jpg
    buntingish2.jpg
    46 KB · Views: 510
Good spot for Corn Bunting too, maybe more likely up on a hill on the Downs. I assume that bill is actually grey rather than just showing a grey tinge on upper mandible? Not a very clear pic but might explain the covert pattern.

http://www.birdphoto.fi/lajikuvat/kuvahtml/1embcal110.html

http://www.netfugl.dk/pictures.php?id=showpicture&picture_id=21120

http://waarneming.nl/foto/view/608452

http://waarneming.nl/foto/view/608452

http://waarneming.nl/foto/view/285097