• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

eritrea dec2014 ginda (1 Viewer)

I think Northern Grey headed for the following reasons;
White bib, chestnut on top half of wings, small white wing bar/patch, bill shape is more slender than Swainson's.
But I'm no expert.

Having had fresh experience with Northern grey-headed in Uganda the first thing that struck me on seeing the pic was the very contrasty plumage of this bird and the grey mantle: unlike any Northern grey-headed seen overthere but seemingly perfect for Swainson's (a species I have no experience of). Northern grey-headed looks to be overall a duller bird with a mantle more or less concolorous with the greater coverts (i.e dull Brown-reddish).

I also noticed some faint white tips to the greater coverts and I have no recollection of this feature on the Ugandan birds, on the other hand this bird Swainson's (along with several other on the web) from Ethiopia apparently show the same white on the inner greater coverts: http://www.birdforum.net/opus/Image:Swainson_s_sparrow_-_addis_ababa.jpg

Hence I am inclined to believe this is a Swainson's rather than a Northern grey-headed sparrow.

Last edited: