• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Guide Recommendation - Watamu Area (1 Viewer)

Chris Galvin

I'm going to be staying at the Turtle Bay Beach Club in October for a week after my safari. I'd like to explore the Arabuko - Sokoke forest & Mida Creek. I would like to be able to get close to and photograph Mangrove Kingfisher, Crab Plover and of course the Scops Owl as well as a whole host of other stuff.

Can anyone recommend a guide? As I am a photographer I'd rather see fewer species very well and photograph them all rather than be on a mad race around ticking everything.

Cheers

Dear Chris,
Since you are staying at Turtle Bay Beach Resort, they do arrange this safaris to the Forest and they normally use spine tail safaris guide. The only man know to this forest with vast experience from a forest guard to a bird guide and even more getting world Recognition Awards towards conservation of the forest and empowering young generation to love their forest as another source of income is David Ngala. I would recommend you give him the work directly rather than passing through the hotel and then he get minimal pay. If you wish so , you would get him on his cell phone number(+254) 0734652610 he would be much happier but I leave that at your own discretion!!!
Hope this will help you!!

Regards,

Hi Chris

I shall be there in 10 days!! I have hired Jonathan Baya who from rep is very good. Will be able to let you know IDC.

David Ngala is the ranger at AS forest.