• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Leica 62 APO (1 Viewer)

Gert Corfield

United Kingdom
I became the proud owner of an angled Leica APO 62 scope in July.

I had been using a 77 APO for a few years but was finding the weight of it too much on longer expeditions. As I like to do a lot of walking and birding the 62 is ideal for this given its light weight and compact size so I went for a part ex on the 77.

Using the 32WW – reduced to 26 times on the 62 - the image is amazingly bright and field of view larger ( due to the lower magnification ). Sharpness is superb.

Using the 20 – 60 Zoom ( 16 – 48 on the 62) again there was no real difference maybe slightly darker at top magnification but again due to the lower magnification the image is sharper than at 60x on the 77.

Also depth of field is slightly reduced but not noticeably so.

What impresses me most is the quality of the image for such a small scope and for me its an ideal birding scope for all situations. To date I haven’t missed the 77 at all or the ability to use higher magnification on the zoom.

I bought one this weekend, and I'm chuffed to bits! What a fantastic thing.

I walked into the shop determined to buy the Swarovski ATS80HD, but after extensive testing, try as I might I just couldn't find any reason to spend all that extra money. I much prefer the image in the Leica: it's both warmer AND more contrasty, and as bright as the Swarovski across its zoom range (due to the reduced magnification perhaps).