• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hawks at my feeder :( (1 Viewer)

1horse2many

1horse2many
Hey all!
I have been feeding the birds in my backyard for about 2 months now. I have large numbers of black-capped chickadees and gold finches which are my favourites. I also have cardinals, blue jays, grackles, starlings, mourning doves, red-winged blackbirds and sparrows. This evening I was sitting in my house and I looked outside to see a sharp-shinned hawk standing in my willow tree where my feeders are. I was instantly overcome with fear for my birds, so I let my dogs outside to bark and I also shouted at it and it quickly flew away.

I am very worried for my birds now, as I love them and I regularly have 15+ gold finches at the feeder daily. Will he eat my clinger-type birds as well as doves. I am a bird lover, but I do not want to feed these predatory types. How can I scare them away so they wont come around?
Please, help!!

1h2m

Hello and welcome to the forum from the staff and moderators.

I am afraid you have come across a dilemma for many backyard bird feeders. If we feed the song birds the predators are sure to come around, it is just part of nature.