• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Just the same old birds (1 Viewer)

binfield

bit of a moan I'm afraid. Met up with a birding companion yesterday at a local estuary hide. When I entered the hide and asked " what's about" the reply was the usual same old birds. A quick scan of the dunlin and a curlew sand was picked up , just a bit along from that was a spotted redshank. then overhead an Osprey. Out with the scope and Black turn is picked up. We are not talking about a beginner here. This bloke has a many years on me but can't spot a barn door in a farm yard. I can't be bothered anymore birding with people who won't put a bit of effort in . My bird id skills are not the best but if I can pick these birds up surly he can. Lone trips from now on I think. :C.

Hahahahaha - Now you know he was just the typical grumpy old birder who isn't interested in conversation.

I say typical as 99% of the birders I met in the last 2 years have been absolutely the same. Even to the point where a White Billed diver and Surf Scoter have been in the same patch of water and their utter disdain shines through at sharing anything.

Now if I see a group of people with spotting scopes I move on and away as I really cannot be bothered with the surely attitude.