• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Is newer better? (1 Viewer)

ibmike

Wow, there is a ton of info here, but as a beginner I have been using a pair of Kalimar 7 X 35, that are about 50 years old. I think they are ok, but would a newer pair be sharper or clearer or generally better if I only wanted to spend a couple hundred bucks.

B&H just had the Zeiss Terra 10x42 on sale for $250...That is as cheap as I have ever seen it......it will definitely blow your mind with the brightness and contrast compared to what you have been using.... Even has the full backing of the Zeiss warrantee...should get you by for the next 50....

I don't think I've ever heard of Kalimar but I have a couple of porro prism binoculars of that kind of vintage, and the most obvious difference is that modern models mostly have better colour and brightness. I'm sure the difference of even a modestly price porro binocular like the Nikon Aculon would be very obvious. Fifty years ago it was clearly possible to make very sharp binoculars, but that was expensive. My fathers cheap Japanese binos from the 60s is very poor compared to the ones I use now.

Most models on the market now are roof prism designs (with straight barrels) which need various coatings to the prism to get the brightness of a porro design which adds to the cost. These may be absent or poor on the cheapest models and you might need to pay $150+ to get a reasonabe level of performance and around $3000 to get the very best. ;)

Good luck,

David

Last edited:
Mike,