• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

8x30 CL diopter shifting with altitude (1 Viewer)

fboyd

I have a new pair of Swarovski 8x30 CL binoculars. I'm having a problem where the diopter adjustment shifts with altitude. I live at 400' elevation and both eyes focus correctly with the diopter adjustment set right in the middle when i'm at home. However i also work as a fire lookout at 8800' elevation. When at the tower i have to readjust the right eye diopter way into the negative to be able to focus both eyes correctly. Once i've readjusted the diopter i'm good for the day until i return home and have to reset. What could be causing this? Otherwise i'm very pleased with the binoculars and the views they provide.

I have a pair of Leica Ultravid 10x32 that i also use at home and at elevation and they do not require readjustment between the two locations.

Thanks for any comments or suggestions.

-Florian (New to the forum. Greetings!)

It sounds like the reduced air pressure at 8800' is causing the right eyepiece to be pushed slightly outward by the relatively higher gas pressure inside the binocular. Rotating the eyepiece in the negative direction takes the eyepiece elements back in to their 400' position. When you return to 400' altitude the eyepiece has to be rotated back in the positive direction. I don't know why the diopter adjustment would be that squishy, but I've heard of eyepiece bridges on sealed external focus binoculars being pushed outward in response to air pressure changes like that.