• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hello again from Sussex (1 Viewer)

RKO Terix

Hello again. I managed to register a few days before the site wiped out, so I just had time to find my way around, post a few pictures and generally enjoy the friendly atmosphere. Glad it's back.

Looking on the bright side, I now have an extra 10 days to get that killer picture for the February competition... (in my dreams)

Paul

Hello Jax, thanks for the welcome,

Well, I'm pretty new to this sort of thing so I don't know all the best places - and I'm not very good at standing on mudflats for hours at a time - but I live just a few miles away from Pulborough Brooks so I go there quite a lot. Devil's Dyke near Brighton is a good place for heathland birds such as stonechats and yellowhammers. Also when I was last there in summer it was notable for the huge number of cinnabar moth caterpillars feeding on the ragwort. Not directly relevant to birds, I think, since I understand the moths are highly poisonous to birds courtesy of the ragwort, but an interesting sight nonetheless. Ashdown Forest is wonderful as well and great for a walk even if the birds are thin on the ground (or should that be thin in the sky?).

If you're a starling fan, and I think there is someone out there who's pretty keen, the Palace Pier at Brighton is an amazing sight at dusk as they settle down on their roosts in and around the pier.

I'm happy for now in the knowledge that I've hardly scraped the surface in this part of the world. How about you? Any must-visit places?

Paul

Brian,