• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

7x42 (2 Viewers)

dries1

How many here like the 7X42 format, I think it provides a great all around view and will allow you to view under low light conditions. I am new to the Meostar 7X42 B1 and the resolution is great along with edge sharpness, makes me think down the road that I will get a higher mag for my tripod, the optics for the price is I think is the best today. For those thinking about it, I have compared it to the best of Zeiss, Nikon, and Leica and it is right there with them, so it is definitely a Premium glass.

A.W.

Used the 6,5x32 format for quite a while, along with 10x32. Found that my newly-acquired 8x30 E II was just as good at delivering detail as was my 10x32 FL, which marked a sharp departure from the two-binoculars route when I abandoned the 10x format.

The E II was soon followed by a Meopta 8x32. I looked for any good 7x42 for a long time since I wanted a really serious birding instrument, and finally I went with an EDG II 7x42. I figured it would be as quick in use as the 6,5x32, but it wasn't. What I have with it is the huge exit pupil and outstanding image quality, but I tend to think of it as a 8x42 with a 6 mm exit pupil, if you understand the idea. My Meostar 8x32 is my main choice for warblering despite its higher magnification. True FOV is the same, but the Meostar is quicker to raise to the eyes and focus.