• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

pentax pf-80ed and Nikon d60 digiscoping (1 Viewer)

carnybob

I'm very new to digiscoping and would like to find what I'll need to combine the Pentax scope and the Nikon D60 camera. I want to be able to use each independently so I am looking for something that's fairly simple to attach and remove. Any help identifying an adaptor(s) and where I might buy such items would be much appreciated.

carnybob

Get either the Pentax XW or Baader Hyperion eyepiece. Buy a step ring and a T mount for the Nikon. This will allow you to screw the eyepiece directly to the camera and take pictures in eyepiece projection mode.

Get either the Pentax XW or Baader Hyperion eyepiece. Buy a step ring and a T mount for the Nikon. This will allow you to screw the eyepiece directly to the camera and take pictures in eyepiece projection mode.

Hello Can Popper,

I have just received my Pentax PF80 straight and use a Nikon DSLR with a variety of lenses. Following are some of the lenses that I have that I think may be suitable for digiscoping
50 1.8
50 1.4
18-55 generation 1
35-70 2.8
The first 3 lenses have a 52 mm filter while the last has a 62 mm filter ring.

So amongst these which one would be the ideal lens for digiscoping and also the best eyepiece to use with these lenses.