• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Wings Over Winecountry, Colleen's place (1 Viewer)

colleenc

I live in a bit of heaven the miraculous winecountry of Napa and Sonoma County California. Since I've been in your virtual pubs several times at Tim's I invite you to sample some of the best wines made here, (Virtually is the only way I could afford it!) So to open my new thread I'm popping the cork on a lovely Joseph Swan Zinfandel from their old vines vineyard a mile from my little cottage on the 39 acre farm owned by my dear friend.

As I mentioned on another thread, I'm new to birds, been drawing them a little over a month, and barely know anything about them except what I've crammed in the last month when I did a full immersion blitz. I read Tim's thread and tried to do what he did:-O, anyway Lars says you should pick a master and copy them until you work your way out on the other side, also heard this in regards to songwriting, novel writing and other art forms. I sure save time and not being a great copyist my own stuff comes out anyway.

I go to a lovely big marshy lake nearby and the avocets and stilts ( I am getting some names to stick in the sieve my memory is) were the first birds I saw there. I did field studies, and when my first bins came I took a shaky look closer, but I don't know how to hold them steady yet and have a hard time getting them in my sights, so I don't know a lot of detail yet, but I love the form and light so that's what I tried to put in here.