• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Lesser Spotted Woodpecker!! (1 Viewer)

david2004

I know most of you have seen these a lot, but I haven't, and definitely not right outside my house! We knew there were GS W'peckers, but today a Lesser made a 5 minute appearance in full view! I took some film with digital cam and snapshots (no digiscoping - I'm new to this kind of thing!)
No Woodpeckers at all have visited the nuts apart from one on the top of the bird table for about 7 secs. Does anyone know why? And how can I encourage them?
I will post pics soon.

Last edited:
Excellent David. I always get excited when I see one. I'm not sure how many of us could honestly claim to have seen these a lot. I certainly wouldn't. I've never subscribed to the theory that they're common but overlooked and I think most people now accept that, although widespread, they're thinly distributed. You're a lucky chap.

Bluetail said:
Excellent David. I always get excited when I see one. I'm not sure how many of us could honestly claim to have seen these a lot. I certainly wouldn't. I've never subscribed to the theory that they're common but overlooked and I think most people now accept that, although widespread, they're thinly distributed. You're a lucky chap.