• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Advice needed for birdwatcher farm (1 Viewer)

wahur

Hi!

I am sorry for slightly offtopic post, but I need some advice from your community.
I am a business consultant from Estonia. Recently a client came to me who wants to build a small tourist farm oriented primarily for birdwatchers. I have to do the business plan for him.

Location is good for the purpose - on the territory of Matsalu reservate, which is really a bird paradise in a world scale. He is allowed to create a lodging for 10 people + stables for some horses. Because of reservate all movement and construction work is very much restricted.

I have been consulting local bird people and they say that from business point of view its a big no. Birdpeople barely sleep, buy nothing, eat little, care not for additional services like horse tours, require highly qualified guide to find rare birds for them and when they have seen all, they are gone in two days. Wow! and I thought computer freaks were strange! :eek!:
Must tell poor guy to drop the idea.

But maybe you have different opinion and have meet different birdwatchers as well? Has this guy some hope? I mean, not getting rich with this business, but at least surviving?

Wahur

Hi wahur,

On behalf of all the Moderators and Admin Staff let me welcome you to BirdForum.

To answer your question from my personal point of view, if I were to visit Estonia on a birding holiday, then a small farm or similar accomodation would be just the kind of thing I would be looking for.