• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

birding binoculars upgrade (8x42) in the $400-$700 range (1 Viewer)

pnw_hiker

Good evening, all. I have lurked here for a while before joining to post this. I am looking for some 8x power lenses. Sorry, long post...

I have been bird-watching for a few years now, starting out with a Pentax roof-prism pair of binoculars. Recently, using my girlfriends pair, I noted I could see a lot better out of hers. Apparently, my pupil spacing is too narrow for my current set and cannot see out of them correctly... I was not turning up the eye cups on mine! (I cannot, or it blacks out the image) So I am using this as a good reason to upgrade!

1. IPD/Interpupillary Distance needs to be able to go down to 57mm. I have noted many models list a 58,59 minimum for this, ruling them out.

2. I live along the Puget Sound; a lot of the year sees some rain and more importantly can be very grey/overcast. Being so far north, there is not much light a lot of the year. Low light/good contrast is something I am looking for. Also, waterproof.

3. I am in my late 20's. Decent shape, take them hiking usually, as well as along the coast looking at seals/porpoises. My pair now is 32oz, and this has never been a huge issue. I am looking at roof prisms, and will appreciate a lighter model, but weight is rather low on my priority list.

4. Hers have a Field of View of 410+ feet; I really like this! How should I be balancing FOV with everything else, like poor light performance?