• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Identification Concept (1 Viewer)

mwrogers

Hi all, I have a question about field identification.

I’m a design student Syracuse University in America and I am doing a semester long project on birding!!! As part of my concept development, I am seeking the input of other birders. I have 3 questions about in field observation recording. If anyone could find the time to give feedback, I would really appreciate it.

1). How do you record sightings in the field?

2). Is there any difficulty in taking those field observations and putting them into a useful form (life lists, journals, scientific data etc.)?

3). What would you make to record bird sightings if we had Star Wars technology and could make anything?

Thanks so much for you time. Next week I can post some of my designs if anyone is interested.

Mark
[email protected]

1. Small notebook ringed at the top.
2. You must distinguish here. A Life List is personal and the corroborator is basically yourself or also birding buddies with you at the time. The other two uses involve corroboration.
3. Kind of a strange question but I have a fertile imagination. How about a small wireless headset with a satellite uplink directly to my PC that is itself equipped with applications capable of converting my spoken words into coherent data.

mwrogers said: