• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Which Spotting Scope (1 Viewer)

rustynut

I have a finepix 7000 and i'm considering buying a spotting scope to match, if there is one that does match that is, lol. Could anyone please help me as i'm new to all this. many thanx Russ.

Hi Russ I don't know your camera but hopefully some one on here does. Other than that your best bet is to go along to a shop/outlet and try your camera on various scopes.
If you want a scope primeraly (is that spelt right?) for birding the best suggestion is get the best you can afford preferably HD glass and this will and this will help with digiscoping if you go down that route.

Hope this helps

Pete

Hello again, Rustynut.

I guess you mean the s7000. I have the baby brother of the family, the s3000, which is structurally not too dissimilar - I've pretty much given up on finding a scope that will work with it for digiscoping.

I've realised that one of the main "good digiscoping camera" attributes is a physically small lens, which - preferably - zooms internally, rather than the lens moving in and out of the body of the camera.

Our cameras have a physically large lens, and alignment with the exit pupil of the scope is a nightmare, and I can't find a workable adaptor set-up.

Plus (and this is where it gets confusing - anyone should feel free to put me right) with a small lens camera, the CCD and camera are set up to work well together: the CCD will be "filled" by the information coming in through the small lens.