• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Bank Swallows? (1 Viewer)

Jacamar

I saw some swallows yesterday that I think might be Bank Swallows (Riparia riparia), but I am not good at identifying swallows. They were white underneath with a grey band across the breast; making a sort of white collar. An inch-long thin grey line extended from the breast band down the middle of the front. I could not tell what color the back was. Around sunset they were flying out of the sugarcane fields and perching on the electric wires along the road. I estimated that there were 1-2 thousand of them covering the wires. Does anyone know if these would could Bank Swallows?
Thanks!

What are the main differences? The Brown-chested Martin doesn't seem to have a white collar; the bird I saw did. Isn't the thin brown line extending from the breastband a good identifying feature?

Jacamar said:
Isn't the thin brown line extending from the breastband a good identifying feature?

I would say not necessarily, since the BC Martin can have a similar thin line down the breast:

http://www.arthurgrosset.com/sabirds/brown-chested martin.html

Look in particular at pics #2 and #4.

However, it seems far more prevalent and noticable on the Bank Swallow than on the martin, so I would say your first instinct is probably correct.

Jacamar said:
What are the main differences? The Brown-chested Martin doesn't seem to have a white collar; the bird I saw did. Isn't the thin brown line extending from the breastband a good identifying feature?