• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

I can't figure out which bird this is! (1 Viewer)

Hello everyone!
I am new to this wonderful forum; I have been looking for something like this for awhile and I'm so glad I found it. I've attached a picture of a very small bird that's been in my backyard the past few days, but I've never seen it before and I can't find it in my bird identification book. Does anyone here know which bird this is? Thank you for your help!

Attachments

• bird.jpg
    bird.jpg
    9.2 KB · Views: 570
Russian, this is a female American Redstart.
The male is unmistakable, with the orange patches contrasting with the black body and white belly. Females and young birds are olive-gray above, with yellow tail and wing patches.

YES!!!

AHA! Olive gray above, yellow tail and wing patches! That describes this bird exactly - oh, I am so happy you told me what this is. I have never seen one before and I'm so very, very happy I was able to attract it to my backyard. It's been flitting around my waterfall, so fast I could barely see what it looked like. My boyfriend snapped a bunch of photos, but this was the best one to use for identification because of the tail shot.
THANK YOU so much, you've been a great help!

Here it is again!

I looked up this other picture from the web once I was told it was the femal American Redstart. Yep, this is the baby! Thank you all again, what a fabulous forum!

Redstart

Here is photo of an American Redstart which we mist netted and banded here in Saint Joseph, Missouri, September 3, 2003.

Attachments

• american redstart.jpg