• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Swarovski Habicht 10x40 (1 Viewer)

Rossstephens

Hi all,

I currently use a pair of Nikon E11 10x35 which I think are a superb binocular and I've been using for about 10 years. My only gripe is they're not waterproof and with being out in all conditions they do fog up now and again.
I'm considering upgrading to the Swarovski Habicht 10x40s which seem to be the only quality waterproof Porro prizms around. Anyone have any views on these? Any opinions much appreciated!
Cheers!
Ross.

Hi all,

I currently use a pair of Nikon E11 10x35 which I think are a superb binocular and I've been using for about 10 years. My only gripe is they're not waterproof and with being out in all conditions they do fog up now and again.
I'm considering upgrading to the Swarovski Habicht 10x40s which seem to be the only quality waterproof Porro prizms around. Anyone have any views on these? Any opinions much appreciated!
Cheers!
Ross.

hello and welcome Ross

Like yourself i own the 10x35 EII, but have also been mulling over the Swaro porro for some time and decided to take the plunge, so i have just ordered an 8x30 W.

As you say the weatherproofing will pay dividends, other forum members have used the 10x35 in rain etc with no problems, i would rather use it in fair weather...B :)

I also own a 10x35 EII and have owned various Swarovski Porro's including the 10x40 (I still have an 8x30).