• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

First Try with STS-80 and CP 4500 - Soft Focus (1 Viewer)

Mac

Well, I had my first digiscoping try today. I bought the Swarovski STS-80 with the 25-60 zoom eyepiece and the Nikon CP 4500. I'm an experienced photographer, both with birds and some limited astrophotography.

None of my pics were focused well. My technique was as follows:

1. Frame the shot
2. Focus using the scope's focusing ring until the bird looks sharp in the viewfinder.
3. Set the camera for Aperature and use f/4.0.
4. Set the timer to "on" by pressing the button 3 times (there has to be a better way)
5. Take the shot allowing the camera to do the focusing.

The shots looked ok on the camera, but were very soft on my monitor.

I did try 1-2 using manual focus, but found it awkward to hold down the MF button while turning the dial.

Any thoughts? All help would be greatly appreciated.

And yes, I did read the other focus messages here and downloaded two sets of instructions on how to set up the camera - also appreciated.

Mac Knight
http://www.pbase.com/macknight
[email protected]

Hi Mac. I haven't welcomed you to BF yet so welcome :)

I agree with you regarding the timer shots. It really does seem to waste a lot of time.

How much zoom were you using on your shots? Higher zooms can cause that softness. What zoom were you using on the scope? I tend to keep my zoom at half way or less and shoot most of my shots at 20x on my swaro. It's a neat scope huh?

Thanks for the welcome :)