• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Using minimum zoom on camcorders (1 Viewer)

TazmanianD

I'm am basically a complete noob to the world of telescopes and telestrial and aerial observations. I recently decide to buy a scope just to mess around with and try a few things. Because I wanted both terrestrial and aerial viewing, I bought a Celestron C5 Spotting Scope that has a 1250mm focal length (which I gather is fairly high for a spotting scope) and exchangable 1.25" eye-pieces.

One of the things I wanted to do was try some videoscoping. I previously messed around with this with a very cheap telescope and a non-video digital camera. I just used the video-out from the camera (the video that shows you the same things that's on the LCD monitor) and it worked great, but the problem is that the camera isn't designed for video so I have no control over the video output and specifically, I can't control the shutter speed or get rid of the display information.

So, I went and bought a relatively cheap camcorder yesterday (JVC GR-D250US) and have discovered that it does not work nearly as great as my digital camera (which works because I can put the lense right up into the eye-piece on the scope). With no zoom, I get pretty significant vignetting if I zoom in a bit, the vignetting increases as the camera lense recesses into the camera and eventually at higher zooms, the vignetting disappears.