• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Recording format query. (1 Viewer)

senatore

I am a camcorder novice and am looking to buy one for videoing birds so forgive me if I am asking a stupid question.

I am toying with the idea of buying a Panasonic SD900 camcorder but I am told it's difficult to get decent editing software.

I see this camcorder recording format is MPEG 4.I have Windows Movie Maker on my computer already which handles MPEG formats and wonder if this includes MPEG4.

Max.

When it comes to video there is no such thing as a stupid question - so don't worry. Up front I must be clear that I don't own this particular model, however:
All(?) AVCHD recording video cameras use derivatives of the MPEG 4 standard - so most modern editing packages will edit output from most video cameras. (Panasonic & Sony wrote the AVCHD standard) The exeptions are where someone has taken a lead and incorporated features that are brand new or unique to that manufacturer.
Each manufacturer has different interfacing software to allow the download from their camera to a pc. It is generally a very good idea to use it.
This software will provide (very) basic editing capability. So no matter what camera you buy you can at least carry out a basic edit.

Before we go any further the next problem you will hit in producing a high definition masterpiece is processor power - rendering an HD video uses all the power you can find. So before you invest in any software make sure that your computer meets the recommendations of the software manufacturer. I use a quad core processor and it is still slow.