• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Advice please on Swarovski scopes (1 Viewer)

gossypots

I have been birdwatching for a few years now,but only with binoculars.I was going to treat myself to a scope , but would like a bit of advice off anyone on here please.First of all if you could buy any scope which one would you choose ? and secondly are scopes better than bins for all types of birding.Thanks Gossy.

Kowa 883! - though I dare say you'll get a wide range of answers from other members.

Actually any of the top range scopes are very good - none are the 'best' as preference is down to personal choice and design. There's half a dozen very good performers. For me I think Swarovski still takes the lead for optics, design and compactness - my one niggle is the helical focus which I find isn't as finley controllable for digiscoping.

As for binos versus scope - to me they serve different purposes. I think a decent pair of binoculars is far more useful than a scope. Scopes are fine for viewing very distant birds on, but a decent pair of binoculars can be taken and used anywhere.

Hi i love my swarovski scope,i have the 80hd ats version the optics are fabulous however some of swarovski's accesories are overlooked ie the cases and attention to detail which i cannot understand why swarovski have decided to put the filter thread right on the end of the lens hood to me this is pointless it neither protects the lens nor does it block the light can anyone tell me why?.theese things aside this is a wonderfull scope well worth the cost i take mine everywhere.i hope this helps neil.